The total checklist of Republicans who will flip their backs on McCarthy on the second day of voting


21 home teams Republicans For the second day in a row, they remained defiant in opposition to Home Minority Chief Kevin McCarthy, refusing to alter their votes and strolling out. Congress: stopped once more after the fourth vote.

Almost two dozen Republican lawmakers voted in opposition to McCarthy’s speakership on the fourth poll on Wednesday, serving to the GOP chief lose as a result of the GOP cannot rally behind a single member to win. This time, McCarthy’s dissidents favored Consultant Byron Donalds as speaker.

The vote comes a day after greater than a dozen Home votes Republicans rebuked McCarthy by a vote of three separate flooring. The chaos has been a troubling signal for the GOP, elevating questions how will the social gathering govern? over the following two years if members cannot even agree on who ought to lead the 118th Congress.

And not using a new speaker, newly elected members of Congress can’t be sworn in, and the brand new Republican majority can’t start work on its legislative agenda.

Republican spokesman Kevin McCarthy
Home Minority Chief Kevin McCarthy speaks throughout his weekly information convention on the U.S. Capitol on November 21, 2019 in Washington, D.C., Kyiv. Representatives Lorraine Bobert and Matt Gaetz communicate to reporters after assembly with Home Republicans on January 03 within the US Capitol. , 2023, in Washington, DC
Alex Edelman/Kevin Deitch/Stringer

On Tuesday, 19 Home Republicans voted in opposition to McCarthy on the primary poll, nominating Rep. Andy Biggs. Jim Jordan, Jim Banks, Lee Zeldin and Byron Donalds. On the second poll, all 19 went to Jordan, who urged his colleagues to vote for McCarthy in an impassioned speech earlier than the second poll.

Then on the third poll, not solely did the 19 votes stay strong for Jordan, however so did Donalds, who voted for McCarthy the primary two occasions;He additionally turned his vote in favor of Jordan.

Members of Congress determined to take a break for the night earlier than reconvening on Wednesday to vote once more. Whereas McCarthy spent nights working the telephones and inventing voices (he even earned up to date affirmation from the previous president Donald Trump), his dissidents refused to budge.

When members returned Wednesday, all of Jordan’s votes from Tuesday went to Donalds, who was nominated by Rep. Chip Roy. As well as, consultant Victoria Spartz gave the primary “current” vote. He had beforehand voted for McCarthy, deviating from the GOP chief and costing him one other vote. McCarthy obtained 201 votes on the fourth poll. He wants 218.

Listed here are the 21 Home Republicans who voted in opposition to McCarthy on Wednesday.

  1. Andy Biggs from Arizona
  2. Dan Bishop of North Carolina
  3. Lauren Bobert from Colorado
  4. Josh Breechen of Oklahoma
  5. Michael Cloud from Texas
  6. Andrew Clyde from Georgia
  7. Eli Crane from Arizona
  8. Byron Donalds from Florida
  9. Matt Gaetz from Florida
  10. Bob Goode of Virginia
  11. Paul Gosar from Arizona
  12. Andy Harris from Maryland
  13. Anna Paulina Luna from Florida
  14. Mary Miller of Illinois
  15. Ralph Norman from South Carolina
  16. Andy Ogles from Tennessee
  17. Scott Perry from Pennsylvania
  18. Matt from Rosendale Montana
  19. Chip Roy from Texas
  20. Kate Self from Texas


Supply hyperlink

Leave a Comment